• Slide 1

    The PAN Project

    Crowdsourcing for environmental protection and monitoring environmental changes

    Project PAN
  • Slide 2

    IGF, mindQ, TERRA.vita

    A cooperation of Science, Economy and Geopark

    Partners
  • Slide 3

    Sponsored by DBU

    Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt

    Sponsoring

About the PAN project


Mobile apps enjoy a high level of public (or customer) acceptance and frequency of use. The documentation of entertainment, community or disaster events on social networks is taken for granted nowadays. The range of possibilities is, however, under-utilized for scientific environmental monitoring and education.

The PAN app research and development makes use of the tremendous smartphone market share and utilizes the embedded sensors, i.e. photos, short messaging, etc. to combine environmental monitoring tasks with Crowdsourcing to engage and inform people about their local and regional landscapes, their protection and natural change processes.

The Idea

Environmental changes are very slow processes and are often hard to perceive during a natural park visit. The underlying idea of the crowdsourcing project PAN (greek god of woods, pastures and nature) is to monitor and visualize these changes in long-term Time-Lapse-Videos that are stitched together from single photographs.

Citizens interested in nature, environmental protection or science, plus tourists, hikers, cyclists, school classes and study groups are enabled by the PAN app to navigate the UNESCO Global Geopark TERRA.vita with GPS and an augmented-reality-view to take rephotos from the approximate same location and perspective over a long period of time.

The Goal

The goal of the innovative PAN project is to provide planners, conservation authorities, scientists and other interested parties with high quality visual data for the evaluation of environmental change processes.

At the same time, citizens are encouraged to use mobile technologies to record environmental patterns and changes over time and become an embedded part in the scientific research, policy making and documentation process.

Download the App

App structure for iOS and Android

Start screen, main menu and augmented reality photo view based on the iOS mobile operating system
Mockup iOS Splash
Mockup iOS Menu
Mockup iOS Map

App Screen Cast Augmented Guiding

Augmented Guiding for taking photos video download.

Timelapse Video for the study area Lengerich Canyon in the Nature- and Geopark TERRA.vita

Lengerich Canyon (Feb. - Sept. 2016, Download)

Partners


An innovative collaboration of Science, Economy and Geopark.

IGF Logo

University of Osnabrück | Research Group Environmental Informatics and municipal planning

The research group Environmental Informatics and municipal planning at the Institute of Computer Science, University of Osnabrück has long-time experiences with the concept and the development of information systems and cadastres for various geographical issues.

The focus lies on mobile acquisition of information, its automatic processing and integration over common web interfaces.

mindQ

mindQ | Digitale Technologieagentur

The Digital Technology Agency mindQ was founded in 2013 by CEO Björn Fuhrmann and CTO Olaf Gerlach in Osnabrück, Germany.

mindQ develops, designs and builds digital products and services to create value for the clients and engage their users. The mindQ main business fields are developing mobile innovations and digital strategy consulting.

terra.vita

UNESCO Global Geopark TERRA.vita

The UNESCO Global Geopark TERRA.vita in the environs of Osnabrück covers about 1500 square kilometers (580 square miles) and extends across the states of Lower Saxony and North Rhine-Westphalia. Since 2001, TERRA.vita is part of the global Geopark movement and is now a recognized senior partner.

Within this space, the park offers an exciting journey through 300 million years of Earth’s history. The best-known highlights are the Piesberg mountain in Osnabrück, the dinosaur tracks of Barkhausen, the water gap of the Weser river at Porta Westfalica, the Dörenther Cliffs at Ibbenbüren, the giant ammonites in Borgholzhausen, and the shark teeth from Bippen. The park is organized as a registered association, with the county of Osnabrück responsible for its management.

News


December 2016

The PAN Project won the Wikitude Xmax Giveaway Award. More information can be found on the Wikitude Blog.

October 2016

From the 27th - 30th September 2016 we presented the project PAN during the International Conference on UNESCO Global Geoparks in Torquay, England. The presentation of Prof. Dr. Norbert de Lange can be downloaded as a Powerpoint or PDF file.
PAN

Contact


Project Management

Prof. Dr. Norbert de Lange

+49 541 969-3911

webmaster@panature.org

www.informatik.uni-osnabrueck.de

Impressum

Datenschutzerklärung


Universität Osnabrück
Institut für Informatik
AG Umweltinformatik und Kommunalplanung
Wachsbleiche 27
49090 Osnabrück

• Slide 1

    Das PAN Projekt

    Citizen Science für Umweltschutz und Umweltveränderungen

    Projekt PAN
  • Slide 2

    IGF, mindQ, TERRA.vita

    Eine Kooperation aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Geopark

    Kooperationspartner
  • Slide 3

    Gefördert durch die DBU

    Deutsche Bundesstiftung Umwelt

    Förderung

Über das Projekt PAN

Mobile Apps genießen eine hohe Akzeptanz und Nutzungsfrequenz. Die Dokumentation von beliebigen Ereignissen über soziale Netze ist selbstverständlich geworden. Diese Möglichkeiten werden allerdings zur wissenschaftlichen Umweltdokumentation und Umweltbildung bisher noch zu wenig genutzt.

Die Entwicklung der PAN App macht sich somit die enorme Verbreitung von Smartphones und deren Sensorik zu Nutze, eine App zum wissenschaftlichen Umweltmonitoring mit dem Trend zum Citizen Science zu verknüpfen und Menschen für ihre Umwelt, den Umweltschutz und Umweltveränderungen zu sensibilisieren.

Die Idee

Veränderungen der Umwelt sind und waren oft schleichend, so dass man sie häufig nicht wahrnehmen kann. Die Grundidee des Citizen Science Projektes PAN (der griechische Gott des Waldes, der Weiden und der Natur) ist es, diese Veränderungen in Time-Lapse-Videos, die aus Einzelfotografien zusammengefügt werden, über große Zeiträume zu dokumentieren und zu visualisieren.

Dafür werden Natur-, Umwelt- und Wissenschaftsinteressierte, Touristen, Wanderer und Radfahrer, Schul- und Studiengruppen innerhalb des UNESCO Global Geopark TERRA.vita mittels der PAN App durch GPS-Navigation und die Entwicklung einer innovativen Foto-Overlaytechnologie in die Lage versetzt, Geländeausschnitte bzw. Fotografien von annähernd gleichen Standorten mit möglichst identischer Perspektive über lange Zeiträume nachzufotografieren.

Das Ziel

Ziel des innovativen Projektes PAN ist es, Daten von hoher Güte für Planer, Umwelt- und Naturschutzbehörden sowie die wissenschaftliche Auswertung zu Umweltveränderungen zur Verfügung zu stellen.

Gleichzeitig werden die Menschen mit Hilfe neuer, mobiler Technologien bei der Wahrnehmung der Umwelt in Hinblick auf das Auftreten und Vorkommen von Umweltveränderungen und Umweltphänomenen sensibilisiert, begeistert und somit Teil des wissenschaftlichen Prozesses.

Projektstand

Timelapse Videoerstellung für zwei Untersuchungsgebiete im Natur- und Geopark TERRA.vita

Alfsee (1 Monat, Februar 2016, Download)
Lengerich Canyon (1 Monat, Februar 2016, Download)

App Aufbau für iOS und Android

Startbildschirm, Menu mit Funktionen und Kartenvisualisierung am Beispiel iOS
Mockup iOS Splash
Mockup iOS Menu
Mockup iOS Map

Kooperationspartner

Eine innovative Zusammenarbeit aus Wissenschaft, Wirtschaft und Natur- und Geopark.

IGF Logo

Institut für Geoinformatik und Fernerkundung (IGF)

Das Institut für Geoinformatik und Fernerkundung (IGF) der Universität Osnabrück verfügt über langjährige Erfahrungen bei der Konzeption und dem Aufbau von Informationssystemen und Katastern für unterschiedlichste Geo-Fragestellungen.

Die mobile Erfassung von Informationen, deren automatische Verarbeitung und Integration über gängige Web-Schnittstellen stellen dabei einen Schwerpunkt der Arbeiten und der Forschung am IGF dar.

mindQ

mindQ | Digitale Technologieagentur

mindQ wurde 2013 von CEO Björn Fuhrmann und CTO Olaf Gerlach als Digitale Technologieagentur in Osnabrück gegründet. Ein Schwerpunkt im mindQ-Portfolio liegt in der Entwicklung von mobilen Applikationen für die Systeme iOS, Android und Windows.

Zum weiteren Kerngeschäft zählt die Entwicklung von langfristigen Online-Strategien und die Beratung zur digitalen Markenpositionierung des Kunden. Seit März 2014 befindet sich der Unternehmenssitz im neuen ICO Osnabrück.

terra.vita

UNESCO Global Geopark TERRA.vita

Der UNESCO Global Geopark TERRA.vita rund um Osnabrück ist ca. 1500 km² groß und erstreckt sich über die Bundesländer Niedersachsen und Nordrhein-Westfalen. Seit 2001 gehört TERRA.vita zur globalen Geopark Bewegung und gilt heute als anerkannter Seniorpartner.

Der Park bietet auf engstem Raum eine erlebnisreiche Reise durch 300 Millionen Jahre Zeitgeschichte. Bekannteste Zeugnisse sind der Piesberg in Osnabrück, die Saurierfährten von Barkhausen, der Weserdurchbruch an der Porta Westfalica, die Dörenther Klippen bei Ibbenbüren, die Riesenammoniten bei Borgholzhausen und die Haifischzähne aus Bippen. Organisiert ist er als eingetragener Verein, wobei seine Geschäftsführung vom Fachdienst Umwelt des Landkreises Osnabrück wahrgenommen wird.

PAN

Kontakt

Projektleitung

Prof. Dr. Norbert de Lange

+49 541 969-3911

webmaster@panature.org

http://www.igf.uos.de

Impressum

Datenschutzerklärung


Universität Osnabrück
Institut für Informatik
Wachsbleiche 27
49090 Osnabrück